Southern Nevada DMV services include changing and renewing your driver’s license and vehicle registration cards. Nevada law states you must have current insurance to qualify and must have the proper documentation proving this coverage prior to obtaining you vehicle registration cards. Prior to transferring registration, your vehicle will also need to pass a smog check. DMV also provides voter registration services as well as obtain information about other local services. To find out more information you can visit their website at www.DMVNV.com.
Identification Cards and Driver’s License
With your new local address in Southern Nevada, you will want one of your first local errands to be stopping by the Nevada (DMV) to apply for your Nevada Driver’s License or Identification card and register your vehicle. You have 30 days to change your license or ID over and 60 days to register your vehicle. Failing to do so may result in fines.
Most original licenses will be valid for eight years and cost $42.25. Licenses for those 65 and older are valid for four years and cost $18.25. A $26 testing fee will be charged prior to the written test and covers both the written test and the initial skills test. A $11 retest fee will apply to all retakes.
Any existing ID you may have will be hole-punched and returned to you. You will be issued an interim paper document that certifies your driving privilege. You may choose to receive a Nevada Instruction Permit or to schedule a drive test.
If you receive an Instruction Permit, it will be mailed to you within 10 business days. You may drive only with a licensed driver, 21 years or older, with at least one year of driving experience seated next to you at all times.
You may schedule a driving skills test to obtain your full Driver License. You will be issued an interim document after successful completion of the skills test for a fee of $4.25. The license will then be mailed to you within 10 business days
Copyright © 2019 - All Rights Reserved.